Some Worship Terms

MJ symbol

A Glossary for Messianic Jewish-Christian Worship and Practice:

This page provides a simple collection of terms that can be useful for Messianic Jewish-Christian worship and practice. This page is in process; it will be added to over time.  May El Elyon and Yeshua be blessed!

The terms below are not original here but are long known. For purpose of organization, this page lists terms that provide emphasis on worship and holy Scripture. 



<< Some Worship Terms >>

Biblion  =  Ancient Greek word for “book” and the source of the modern English word “Bible.”

Brit Khadashah  =  Hebrew name for the New Testament of the Christian Bible, meaning “new covenant.”

Ha Siddur  =  Hebrew name for the worship service book of prayers and blessings. There are many Siddurs available; some are Messianic Jewish, some are not. Some Siddurs are designed for Shabbat (Sabbath) service only; some are designed to cover Shabbat and holidays, festivals, and assorted ceremonies in the calendar year. One example Siddur is:  Ha Siddur: The Messianic Prayer Book. by Joseph R. Applegate. Copyright 2000.  

Ketuvim  =  Hebrew name for the third section of the Tanakh and known in English as “Writings.”  This section consists of the poetic books (e.g. Psalms), the wisdom books (e.g. Proverbs), the later historical books (e.g. Chronicles), and certain other books difficult to classify (e.g. Daniel).

Nevi’im  =  Hebrew name for the second section of the Tanakh and known in English as “Prophets.”  This section includes the “former” and “latter” prophets. The ‘former prophets’ refers to historical books from Joshua to 2 Kings (in most English Bibles). Generally, the ‘latter prophets’ refers to the books from Isaiah to Malachi.

Sefer Torah (plural: Sifrei Torah)  =  Hebrew term for a Torah scroll used for worship and reading.

Shabbat  =  Biblical Hebrew word and name referring to the “Sabbath” rest day; that is, the seventh day of the traditional Israelite week, being now also called Saturday by many. The Shabbat is the well-established weekly Jewish rest/worship day in both the Tanakh (Old Testament) and Brit Khadashah (New Testament).

Tanakh  (TaNaKh)  =  The simplistic way of referring to the Hebrew Bible, otherwise called the Old Testament of the Christian Bible. The 3 consonants TNK stand for the traditional 3 sections of the Hebrew Bible: Torah, Nevi’im, and Ketuvim.

Torah  =  Traditional Hebrew name for the first and foundational section of the Tanakh, and which literally in English is “Instruction.”  This section has also been referred to as the Five Books of Moses (Genesis to Deuteronomy). Sometimes the Torah is called the Law of Moses, but that name is really an inaccurate generalization. The term Torah also refers to ancient or modern published scrolls in Hebrew script of the Five Books of Moses that are read in traditional synagogue services.


Some Divine Names

Some Worship Terms

Some Ministry and Practice Terms